PDA

View Full Version : Rear susp question. What ya think

SShep71
03-23-2005, 02:53 PM
Im curious as to which rear suspension setup you guys think would work best on a 70 chevelle with a Full fabbed frame, and a good front suspension setup. With a all aluminum engine setup. I know there is a hell of alot of talent on here, so I think this should be good.

-Shep

JamesJ
03-23-2005, 03:46 PM
Well I am not an expert but I will say that it probably does not matter much of what kind of car you have since it looks like it is a complete custom job. To get more info, I would ask, What do you want to do with this car? And how far you willing to go to achieve it.

Mean 69
03-23-2005, 04:34 PM
My personal vote goes for a three link system, with a Watt's linkage. If you are going with a full frame swap, a good race shop dealing with road race cars could pull this off easily. Of all of the rigid axle suspension systems, the three link seems to offer the least compromises in performance. There is a really nice four link setup called a "Satchell" link that is also a really nice design, but there are not too many people that have run them that I have seen. It is theoretically even more simple, while offering really nice critical attributes (roll center height, roll steer characteristics, etc).

I'd have to second the previous question though, defining what it is specifically you are going to do with the car. If it is going to truly be a road race type car, then removing every ounce of weight is of primary importance with a full frame Chevelle, clearly the aluminum engine is a terrific start.

You will get a lot of opinions with an open ended question like this, be prepared!

Mark

wally8
03-23-2005, 06:36 PM