PDA

View Full Version : Moving LCA up, UCA stays put..

DRJDVM's '69
05-11-2009, 10:44 AM
Okay I'm a real newbie on front suspension design. I've read alot about it but it still confuses the hell out of me.

So..... I have RMS front suspension https://static1.pt-content.com/images/noimg.gif

When we did the mockup to the front of may car, it sat WAY too high. The inner fenders were already custom done, and the design includes the UCA mounts. So in an attempt to not re-do a bunch of stuff, we notched the original frame and moved the k-frame up into the original frame (rather than bolting to the underside.....to get you oriented the two "ear" bolt to the underside of the original frame and the upper shock mount goes up the outside edge of the frame)

So essentially the entire k-frame all moved up as one unit, so the geomerty relative to each piece stayed the same. However the UCA mounts stayed in the original position ( that bolts to the mounts on the original frame).

The entire k-frame unit was moved up 1.5 inches so essentially we moved the distance from UCA mount to LCA mount quite a bit closer.

So....... in discussing it with the shop that is building part of my car, they feel very confident that this wont negatively impact the handling of my car. I'll lose some camber gain, but I shouldnt have bumpsteer issues etc etc... The car will be mostly street driven, but I dont want it to drive like crap no matter what

So what do you guys think ? I'm just looking for some expert second opinons....its making me nervous that I'll discover issues once the car is actually running.

aosborn
05-11-2009, 12:04 PM
With that modification you will greatly increase camber gain and will likely have increased bump and roll steer. You have also drastically changed the position of the roll center.

Did you contact the manufacturer about the ride height issue?

Andy

Hidro
05-11-2009, 12:42 PM
Did you contact the manufacturer about the ride height issue?

Andy