PDA

View Full Version : Online Steel Catalog

airrj1
08-23-2004, 07:23 AM
I am fairly new to fabricating stuff, and I am looking for an online (preferably) or catalog of standard steel shapes and sizes and thicknesses. I have a few local shops that I get my steel from but I would like to see what types of steel I can get before I go into the shop and try to order something. Basically I would like to see what size and thickness Angles, U-channels, bars, rounds, tubes, etc. that are commonly available.

As an example I would like to build a stand out of square tubing with an adjustable mount on it. I am thinking that I would like to use a piece of 1" square tubing and then get a piece of 1.125" square tubing with an .062" wall to slide over the 1". I am assuming that these are common sizes, however I have no knowledge if this is true.

Can anyone point me toward such a resource? :help:

Thanks.

R.J.

astroracer
08-23-2004, 07:42 AM
Your local distributor should be able to supply you with a size catalog.
If not here is an online site I use.
http://www.onlinemetals.com/

Matt@RFR
08-23-2004, 08:27 AM
Any of the online metals places are pretty convenient, and sometimes have stuff that you can't find locally, but beware, you're gonna pay BIGTIME for that convenience. For example, I just bought a bunch of 3/4x3/4x.065 mild steel square tube for $.457/lineal foot.

For the very same stuff, www.onlinemetals.com charges (at best) $.938/ft, and when you break down shipping, it's another $1.713/ft for shipping (to California) for a grand total of $2.65/ft!!!!

They are good resources for what you are looking for though.

airrj1
08-23-2004, 11:49 AM
Thanks Guys. I did a little more digging myself and I found a nice PDF stocklist @ http://www.thewarrencompany.com/STCKLIST.HTM

This is really cool because I can load this on my PDA and have it with me all of the time.