PDA

View Full Version : ram jet 350 upgrades

6T86SPD
03-13-2005, 06:07 PM
I just got a ram jet 350 installed in my camaro and was wondering what are upgrades you can do to the motor aside from supercharger or turbo? ANd with what upgrades will i have to get the computer re-programed?

P.S. I am a newbie so if this was already a subject dont flip.

gen3bu
03-13-2005, 07:41 PM
lt4 hot cam, afr heads, stroker kit, ls1 nos plate kit. re-program the pcm anyway, you will see an improvement.

hotrod
03-14-2005, 08:38 PM
Is there software to reprogram these guys? I didn't think there was. Most of the posts I've seen have been recomending that you replace the whole pcm and harness. It would be cool if there was something out there. Mine is a MEFI3.

JMarsa
03-16-2005, 07:31 AM
Is your controler the Mericruiser one or the next gen (what's being supplied now with the ramjet)?

--JMarsa

67rsconvert
03-16-2005, 09:07 AM
I was told you need the newest 4th gen computer to make modifications. The 3rd gen doesn't have a means to be modified I was told. You may have to change over to the newest generation computer to have any luck if yours is an older( I believe 1 year or older) ramjet.

EFI69Cam
03-16-2005, 03:05 PM
I was told you need the newest 4th gen computer to make modifications. The 3rd gen doesn't have a means to be modified I was told. You may have to change over to the newest generation computer to have any luck if yours is an older( I believe 1 year or older) ramjet.

I have software to re program the MEFI3s I used one to run my 468 until I got a Accel gen 7. The MEFI4 is similar to a 3, but adds coil on plug output, ls1 sensor input, and I think fan and charcoal cannister controls.

I will be using my MEFI3 to run a TPI 350 in my K5, its a decent ECM, for factory combos, but sucks for large cams.