PDA

View Full Version : Rust pitting repair

JoshStratton
02-27-2005, 11:14 AM
I took my fender off to repair the rust bubbling. Fortunately it isn't as bad as I originally thought. I sanded it down to bare metal, and now I have 5 or 6 small spots and one HUGE spot that are not rusted through but they have left some pitting and there is still some rust that I cannot sand out of the little holes. This brings a few questions:

1. How can I remove the rust from the pits.
2. How can I fix it so the rust doesn't come back...should i just use some putty and treat it as a normal primer and paint?
...how would a professional body shop tackle this?

As you can probably tell...I am new to this.

I really don't want to sand the pits down flush and build it back up with putty. I would rather leave as much original metal in tact as I can. I guess I could go with the option of cutting it all out and fabing a piece to match...but I think it would be pointless since there is so much good metal left.

Happyfunballs
02-27-2005, 11:50 AM
You have a few options:
-Spot sandblast the pitted area.
-Grind it off and fill it
-Cut it out and weld in new

Whatever you do, eliminate the rust.

A professional bodyshop, in the interest of time and money and depending on the severity, would grind it out and fill it.

Jim Nilsen
02-27-2005, 01:29 PM
POR 15 when done properly will stop the pits from bothering you for many years. Do both sides to be certain and follow the directions exactly. POR putty or simple a/b epoxy will fill the pits with no problem.

If you have the skills to patch it with new metal you will have a btter fitting fender than if you buy a repro and it might cost less in the end even if you paid a pro to fix it.

Jim Nilsen

JoshStratton
02-27-2005, 03:27 PM