PDA

View Full Version : Probably a dumb question, but...

DarkoNova
11-03-2008, 08:49 PM
Is it possible to get somewhat of a lopey idle with forced induction and still make massive power?

Originally I was going to just go heads/cam/intake on my LS1 because I've always loved muscle cars with the big lope at idle. I've also always loved the sound of a supercharger whine.

I'd prefer to have the lumpy idle, but I know a stock bore/stroke LS1 has more power potential with forced induction.

So is it possible to at least get a "rough" idle with a blower?

Matt

Procharmo
11-04-2008, 02:28 AM
I'm not an expert so I will expect some additional comments. The lumpy idle is caused by the cam opening and closing the intake and exhaust and allowing both to be opened for an instant. I believe this is called overlap. At idle this overlap causes the engine to momentarly die and then come back hence the lope.
Overlap on a boosted motor will mean some of the air/fuel charge will be blown out of the cylinder before full compression is acheived. However I would imagine that would be even more the case on a N/A motor. Lope at idle may also mean efficiency at WOT. Less lowend torque more high end horses.
I think most centrifugal blower owners initially want drivability for the street and then power. Thats why blower/stockish idle cams have been used. However racers have used lopy cams and Prochargers to great success. Please listen to the vid below. This is the best sounding Procharged motor I've heard period. Too bad its a full on drag set up and not Protouring but he has 5.72ET 1/8 mile. Probaby 950 hp from a SBF with an F2.