PDA

View Full Version : Would I have any adverse effects

GMracer
10-29-2008, 06:15 PM
If I were to mount my parallel 4link on my axle with the upper bar pivot point in front of the axle midway, and the lower one lower down, not changing any angles, just moving the mounting point son the axle. I don't see why it would hurt anything but just curious. I drew a quick sketch to explain
https://static1.pt-content.com/images/pt/2008/10/4linkexplanation-1.jpg

silver69camaro
10-30-2008, 05:14 AM
What are your plans for the vehicle?

mongoose
10-30-2008, 05:17 AM
moving the mounts around will have some effect... if it's for the better it depends on what you'll be doing with the car... and how much it will effect it.. i don't know.. =/.

GMracer
10-31-2008, 01:24 PM
its not going to be autoX'd or anything, just a street machine, but I want it to handle well and still be able to hook at the strip. I only ask because of clearance issues.

Denvervet
10-31-2008, 08:37 PM
I'm no engineer but know a little about physical forces. But if your schematics are fairly accurate the angles are less important then the positioning relative to the center of the differential tube (axles). I hope someone smarter than me chimes in here....but ...picture your hands holding onto the diff the way the rods are depicted. The top one more evenly stablilizes it the bottom pic will stabilize more so in one direction of rotational forces. Ultimately it all depends on all the parts that are connected to the diff and not just the rod postioning. When in dout I'd either contact some place like Chassisworks or at least look at their setups and do a little homework. .... Or just do it as you depicted and see if it all works ok. Good luck

GMracer
10-31-2008, 10:09 PM