PDA

View Full Version : 11 Seconds

madmax
02-23-2005, 02:09 PM
Hi all,

First off I wanted to say hi. I am a new member, even though I have read these boards for a while now. I am also fairly new at PT... I have a '69 Camaro that I will be doing up pretty soon.

I am looking for the best way to have a nice, streetable low 11 - high 10 sec car on the strip. From what I hear, superchargers are nice for street applications because the engine runs very smoothly until you jam your foot down.

How should I start? SBC? BBC? Supercharged? Turbo-charged? I mean the possibilities are endless, but I would like to go for one of the more economical routes. A SBC to save weight? I know I love big blocks (and torque!) but is the extra cost and heavier weight worth it? I also know all-motor beasts are $$$$$$$.... and I wish I had more of it.

What else would I need to do to the car? Im going to put a new GW or DS&E suspension in, big Bear or Wilwood brakes, mini-tubs, drag radials, etc.

Basically it is going to be a weekend cruiser with a wild side. 98% street-driven (an occasional pass at the strip).

How much would the engine/power-adder combo cost? I don't really have an unlimited budget (I wish). Sorry for the post being so long, and sorry if this is in the wrong section of the forums.

Oh yeah, do any of you know a decent body shop and/or speed shop in the Tampa area?

And, what the hell. Lets make this a poll.

Thanks for all of your help,
Max

Quick GN
02-23-2005, 03:18 PM