PDA

View Full Version : No Ricer

StoneAge
09-15-2008, 03:10 PM
Hello everyone, I'm a proud owner of a 76 Pontiac Astre Safari wagon that has a Panel Express conversion done by a previous owner. Not your usual G-Machine, but I like cars that are different. I think I found that! It has a 1985 4.3L V6, and TH350 automatic also by the previous owner. After purchasing my Astre back in Jan 08 I started looking at what direction to go with the car. I decide to go in this direction, and haven't looked back since. I'm just getting started, and still have a long way to go. I'm a member of a H-body forum, but they didn't know what to make of my car. At first I got a lot of RICER comments, but no longer. I think this could be the place to get info on sorting out the suspension. The front suspension is basic first gen Camaro, and the rear is the same as third gen Camaro. It mite be smaller then other G-Machines, but its all American.

Bill Howell
09-15-2008, 03:30 PM
First, welcome to the site.
Second, that is a cool platform for a protourer that so far I don't think many have noticed. I love Vegas and actually looked at a cool wagon just this weekend. These cars are lighter than most and would make killer autocrossers it is just hard to find one in my area that is not a rustbucket. I don't think the frontend is actually first gen f body parts, but there has to be improvements you can make to help the car stop and steer better.

StoneAge
09-16-2008, 12:49 PM