PDA

View Full Version : Building for nitrous

Pro-touring towncar
08-20-2004, 05:34 PM
I have contected the nitrous manufacturers but never could get an answer.
What do you need to do to your motor to have a big hit of nitrous and live? I am looking at about 2-300 horse hit. maybe more.

Please help.

Tim

Ralph LoGrasso
08-20-2004, 06:01 PM
Forged internals would be a good start.

justanova
08-21-2004, 11:50 AM
I'm no expert but, from everything that I have read, the bottom end should be built to handle the total amount of power output desired....example: you want 600hp with the 2-300 shot of nitrous, then the crank/connecting rods/pistons etc... should be strong enough peices to support at least 600 hp. I have also read that the cyl. heads have to flow really well on the intake and exhaust sides in order to get all the burned gasses out or the nitrous will build up in the cylinders and kabloowie! :doh:

also with that big of a nitrous shot, you may want to "o" ring the block where the cyl. head bolt on so you don't blow a gasket :fart:

anyone feel free to correct me if I am wrong. :box:

ProdigyCustoms
08-24-2004, 02:13 PM
So i am no expert on exactly what you need either. I would suggest a Mustang board as they all seem to use NOS. I can tell you, as Ralph said, forged pistons are a must, but otherwise, I have broke the rules and run 250HP on some pretty mild bottom ends with stock cast crank and baby rods. But, again, I have no idea what a Ford will need.
Keep in mind with nitrous, its all about fuel pressure. You have to keep good fuel pressure, and prevent going lean, or else you can go boom!

Pro-touring towncar
08-24-2004, 05:36 PM
that is one thing I defianatly will be doing is adding a seperate fuel pump etc for the nitrous system.

Tim

SDMAN
09-06-2004, 09:00 AM
While you can run a 300 hit on a fairly mild bottom end, eventually its gonna let go in a big way. For a motor that will take the hit time after time;