PDA

View Full Version : Can I powdercoat a fuel tank?

brownz
06-18-2008, 06:38 PM
I have a new gas tank that i will be sending to rockvalley to be set-up for my Ls1-t56 and my question is can a gas tank be powder coated? with it being new i would think that you would not haft to blast it but iam not sure thats why aim asking, again dont blast me if its a stupid question

Damn True
06-18-2008, 10:31 PM
How about some indication as to the subject of the thread in the thread title?

brownz
06-19-2008, 06:16 AM
i thouht that powder coating was like paint so thats why its in the body section.

derekf
06-19-2008, 07:34 AM
I believe his question was more of a "why not title the thread with some indication as to the contents instead of 'might be a stupid'"

You'll likely get better quality results with "Can fuel tanks be powdercoated" as a topic. I don't typically read threads that have unspecific topics, and I'm an amateur at everything -- I can't help but imagine that the folks that actually know have less time to read threads that they don't know the subject.

I might be wrong though, either about what experts are willing to do or about his suggestion. With the space before the question mark, I initially read the subject as "might be a stupid", which made me think it was another humor post. With all that said: I don't know if you can powdercoat a gastank or not.

derekf
06-19-2008, 07:39 AM
"If you ever chip the bondo off your Camaro and find you actually bought a Yugo, you might be a stupid."

"If you mow your lawn and find the seats from your car, you might be a stupid."

"If you use gasoline to clean the soot off your torch, you might be a stupid."

You get the idea. I'm a little humor impaired, so if you've got better ones, substitute in your mind.

:)

brownz
06-19-2008, 01:10 PM
"If you ever chip the bondo off your Camaro and find you actually bought a Yugo, you might be a stupid."

"If you mow your lawn and find the seats from your car, you might be a stupid."