PDA

View Full Version : Using lead for body work

rockdogz
02-10-2005, 12:04 PM
What do you think about using lead for body work? I have a pretty bad quarter to fix, and someone remarked to me that although it is a hard skill to learn, using lead to repair something like this would give the best results. My prior plan was to weld up as much material as I could with the MIG and shape. I've never tried lead before, and have no idea how to do it, although I see at Eastwood they have the materials, how-to video, etc.

https://static1.pt-content.com/images/noimg.gif

68protouring454
02-10-2005, 12:19 PM
whether you lead that or weld evrything up solid you are gonna have way more time fixing the messed up 1/4 then putting a new one on, not sure if you have mini tubbed yet, but its very easy to do with the 1/4 off, i would really go for a goodmark full 1/4, or at least a 80%, it will really pay off in the long run, you won't have any spots with alot of filler on there that can lead to problems let alone the holes in the 1/4 that if they do not get sealed up, they will bubble with some time, any size hole will make it bubble, pin hole to one you can't see, goodluck
jake

Happyfunballs
02-10-2005, 12:27 PM
I'm with him.....quarter it, and minitub it while your at it.

Piet
02-10-2005, 12:35 PM
It looks like you have all the rust removed?
Can you get at it from the back (behind the panel)?

rockdogz
02-10-2005, 01:20 PM
I've already mini-tubbed, and replaced the trunk floor too, so I had my chance to remove the whole quarter. I decided to repair - too many people saying that a replacement quarter won't fit well - and won't look as good when you're done doing a repair. What do I know though... :hammer:

Piet
02-10-2005, 01:35 PM
I would work the lead from the back... through the holes... sand from the front.

rockdogz
02-10-2005, 02:38 PM
There really isn't any rust. Those holes are all repair holes I guess. I think it was hit a few times in the rear quarters...

Matt