PDA

View Full Version : Question for RFR

kiko hawaii
02-09-2005, 09:08 PM
When welding ss 304 tubing, are the welds supposed to penetrate all the way inside the tube? Or am I using too much amps, or too slow with the tig torch? I'm new to welding specially tig, but I want to learn and make my own exhaust sys. pls. help, thanks.

Matt@RFR
02-09-2005, 10:35 PM
I happen to know that you're using 1/16" filler. That's too big. I'd use .035 filler for sure on .065" wall tube...especially on stainless.

Stainless doesn't like the kind of heat that mild steel can handle and still produce a sound weld. With stainless, if your welds are coming out a flat grey, you're too hot, which means that the welds, and the surrounding metal are brittle. And when talking about headers, that's certain death. The welds should be silver (good luck), light gold/orange, or blue and purple... and shiny. The further you get away from silver, the more corosion resistance you lose.

Blue and dark purple are signs that you're right on the edge, heat wise, or it could be that you don't have good enough gas coverage. Using smaller filler will let you run colder and still get a nice weld profile (flat to convex is good, concave is BAD!)

Cleanliness is also a big deal with stainless. You need to degrease every joint before you put any tacks on, as well as grind or sand the material. The problem with stainless is that it won't allways show you if there was contamination in the joint...until it cracks. Stainless moves around so much in response to heat that it takes very little to create enough of a stress riser to cause problems. And if you ever hear a "pop!" as your new weld is cooling, you know what just happened. :(