PDA

View Full Version : What can I use from a 96 Z-28 on my 68 Camaro?

woodman13
02-09-2005, 09:56 AM
Well, I don't know if it is because I am real cheap or I like something diffferent, but I am starting a 68 Camaro project and wanted to use all the parts from a doner 96 Z-28 on this restofication. I am of course using the LT-1 and auto tran, but what about the suspension, brakes, rear end, dash(that would be kewl)? I haven't gotten out my trusty tape yet to check any measurments, but just in the thought stages.
I am also a newbie here, but already found many helpful tips and trick to use so continue to let the info flow.

68BNUT
02-09-2005, 10:21 AM
Well you can definetly use the rear disc brakes for a conversion, check out camaroboy69 interior that will let you see whats possible with the interior.

MuscleRodz
02-09-2005, 01:45 PM
You can use the brakes front and rear, motor, tranny, seats, console, the dash will fit, it has been done using a Firebird dash. There is probablyu a lot of little nick knacks that could be used as well.

Mike

skeevay
02-09-2005, 09:34 PM
I like cheap and different! I am doing exactly as you are planning. I have a 65 Impala SS that I am building up with parts from my donor 96 Camaro SS. Most of these modifications are very involving, but this is a low budget build up so that is why I chose this route. Here is the beginning of the list of Camaro parts used: Besides the usual engine/tranny/wiring..etc, I have also installed the k-member w/ front suspension, brake booster & mc, air conditioning & heating system, radiator & fans, steering column, dash (1/2 done), and wiper motor assembly. I have plans for a lot of other parts as I progress. If your fabrication skills are up to it, along with some creativity and a lot of ingenuity there's not much you can't accomplish. I say go for it! Good luck!

Skip

woodman13
02-09-2005, 11:12 PM