PDA

View Full Version : Body Panel Fitting

rockdogz
02-08-2005, 10:24 AM
Ok, I'm new at this part of the game and would appreciate any tips. I have new (repro) front fenders that I'm fitting on the body along with the old nose pieces (which look to be repros too, may need to replace), new hood, etc. Naturally, they're not lining up well on initial assembly. I want to try to fit them on before I do any finishing of the panels. I'm basically talking about the front end (fenders, inner fenders, upper and lower nose pieces, hood), doors, trunk lid. Here is my thinking as to the order of tasks - please let me know your recommendations from your experience...

1. initial fitting of panels, modify as necessary for best fit
2. remove panels
3. perform body work - straighten, prime, paint back side with zero-rust or regular paint? recommend spraying edges of panels with base for cut-in?
4. re-assemble panels, block sand, prime, repeat
5. ready for color

68protouring454
02-08-2005, 10:54 AM
depending on color, i would panel paint the vehicle, but let us know color then we can go from there, even if its a mettalic the new paints are so far ahead of yesterdays paint that there is little trouble with panel painting a car, however i do like to paint everything at same time.
now yes pre-fit panels, hoeing out holes where needed, and getting everything aligned, take note to where and how many shims are needed, as this is key into getting it back together.