PDA

View Full Version : Cheap CAD Software Recommendation

JMarsa
02-07-2005, 12:58 PM
About 10 years ago I was a CAD operator for two years. So I've used several commercial products of the day. I'm looking to spend as little money as possible (I can use my educational discount) on a lite CAD package. 3D is not important. I'm just looking to design some parts and build assembly drawings (so layering is important). I've looked at TurboCad briefly. Any recommendations?

--JMarsa

MoeBawlz
02-07-2005, 01:31 PM
The only product I have ever really used is AutoCAD 2002, 2004, and 2005

Of which I may be able to get you a copy of the student version if not the full version. Id have to check into that.

Matt@RFR
02-07-2005, 05:24 PM
If simple is what you're after, look into DeltaCad. It's around $50, has layers, and is easy to learn. If you'll be sending files of your drawings to a machinist, you're going to have problems. DeltaCad is only accurate down to four decimal places, and when opened in a professional CAD/CAM program, most of the lines won't even be touching or tangent like you drew it.

I've moved on to SolidWorks and will never look back!! Too expensive for what you're talking about though. :(

Hopefully Moe can get you set up with AutoCad. It's a steep learning curve if you've never used it, but I believe there's books online that you can buy to help you through it if you can't find anyone to help out.

JMarsa
02-07-2005, 06:07 PM
Last time I used it it was in version 2 or 3! And I made copies of it on many 5-1/4" or (were they 5-1/2" ?) floppy disks!

Thanks for the replies...

--JMarsa

Derek69SS
02-07-2005, 06:28 PM
I use AutoCAD for 2D and Solidworks for 3D design.

A couple years ago, a buddy downloaded both from kazaa.com, but if you plan on using this for a business, You might want to get a legal version... for personal use, you can probably get away with a copy from someone.

Piet
02-07-2005, 10:14 PM
I use Visio for 2D... currently nothing for 3D