PDA

View Full Version : Anyone autocrossing with DSE set up 1st gen?

Chevy
04-04-2008, 12:31 AM
I'm just getting started autocrossing with my 68 camaro. So far i have the DSE relocated coilovers (adjustable konis) with their upper and lower control arms, sway bar, Baer brakes 13" in front, 12" in rear, DSE drop springs out back with the adjustable konis, and DSE power steering.

I'm running a chevy 350 with AFR 190 heads and aluminum flywheel with a TKO 600, aluminum driveshaft and GM 12 bolt out back with 3.73:1 gears.

I have 17" wheel vintiques aluminum ralley wheels (i know, not the best for autocross) and 245s in front and 275s out back Goodyear Eagle GSD-3s.

Anyone running a first gen with similar set-up? If so, what settings on the Konis have proven effective? How high/low do you set up your ride height in the front? How about tire pressure? Right now i'm running the manual breaks--should i install a booster if i have enough vacuum? Any other mods or settings you recommend for autocrossing?

With these mods i no longer qualify for ESP, i'm going to be competing in CP...anyone else there and are you competitive with a first gen camaro?

Thanks!!

mpozzi
04-04-2008, 09:39 AM
I'm just getting started autocrossing with my 68 camaro. So far i have the DSE relocated coilovers (adjustable konis) with their upper and lower control arms, sway bar, Baer brakes 13" in front, 12" in rear, DSE drop springs out back with the adjustable konis, and DSE power steering.

This sounds a lot like what I run on my still-streetable CP '73 RS except I run QA1's, Global West UCA's and CAT5 rear leafs, and Hotchkis bars. DSE has some fantastic parts for both the first and second-gen F-bodies and it sounds like you've taken advantage of this. Your set up should be fine for CP.

I'm running a chevy 350 with AFR 190 heads and aluminum flywheel with a TKO 600, aluminum driveshaft and GM 12 bolt out back with 3.73:1 gears.

No problems here either ...