PDA

View Full Version : 12 bolt questions / right forum I think?? New here so be nice!

mrsupersport
01-30-2005, 10:11 AM
Hello 2 all of you! I have been hiding in the shadows for awhile & now have a question. I have a 68 Chevelle SS I have modified along the PT route but also to perform @ the track. My car is as follows & then the question.
It is a real SS w/ a ZZ502, M20, 3.55 12 bolt posi. It was a non power drum / steering car originally. I have done the following so far:

Global upper & lower w/ tall spindle conversion & 12" brakes & adjustable QA1 shocks ,1 1/4 F body front bar ,9C1 steering box from Caprice cop car, 3" lowering springs from OPG front & rear, Global tubular rear lowers, Edelbrock adjustable uppers & Doetsch shocks.
I am also running 15" wheels / 15x8 front / 15x10 rear.

That is as far as I have gotten. I have a power booster / master & two different rear disc setups. One is based off the RWD Caddy & other is a later F body. Not sure of which year F body though.

Now for the question. I have another 12 bolt housing I want to build w/ 4.10 gears. It's a bare housing now & untouched. It's a 69 housing by the way. I want to build a rear disc w/ c clip eliminators but cannot alter my track width by much / if anything I could go a bit narrower. So I was looking for input on best C clip style. I have a Tom's diff catalog & can get good deals on that stuff but, am looking for input. Also @ the track it gets launched on slicks so strength & bullet proof are concerns. I am gonna do an autogear 5 speed swap when available so gear is not a prob in future.

Thanx, JOHN

Norwoodx55
01-30-2005, 11:39 AM