PDA

View Full Version : Blending Clear

Neil B
02-14-2008, 02:49 PM
I have a left rear quarter panel that needs paint repair. The shop wants to blend the metallic base color and then clear the entire quarter, but stop the clear where the b-pillar meets the roof line. The only alternative would be to clear the both rear quarters and the roof (which would require removing the front windshield molding to do it right). If I opt to just clear the left quarter and blend into the roof line, will this be noticeable? This is a 'nice' driver quality paint job, not a full-on show car.

Thanks. --Neil

7TSS
02-14-2008, 04:14 PM
My painter told me that the clear blend would show after a while which is why I decided to repaint both quarters and the roof on my Chevelle.
I was told this by 2 other painters so I decided not to take a chance.
I'm curious what some of the painters on here have to say also.

67velle
02-14-2008, 04:50 PM
I've been a painter foor 20 years now and I agree with the other painters.........The blend would look ok for now but after time I can see these blends ,the more you try to rub it out the worse it gets. I see this problem at car shows all the time. TODD

danbob67
02-14-2008, 05:14 PM
painter here at 11 years Ive blended alot of quarters but I wouldnt do it on my own car over time it will show because you are putting new clear over partially unsanded old clear give it some time and it will show I would rather tape up the mouldings or pop them off and reclear the quarters and roof.

GPI
02-14-2008, 05:16 PM
I agree with 67velle, its the better way to do it in the end.

comp-spec
02-15-2008, 05:35 AM
Clear the roof and both qrts.. Theres's no way to make an invisible clear blend........ the right way is to clear complete planels and since there is no were to stop the clear you have to go over the roof and down the qrts
You can polish up your blend to look good but you'll see it

bart007
02-15-2008, 08:59 AM