PDA

View Full Version : I know this is a long shot [NorCal]

dstryr
01-18-2008, 09:46 PM
Alright, I'll explain my story. Im fixing up a 71 camaro to be my daily driver. This is my first project car ( I'm only 17 ) and I have pretty much rebuilt everything mechanical on this car (with the help of my dad of course). Well after getting everything mechanically sound, im ready to move on to body work.

I was wondering if any experienced body people would have the time to come out and give me some pointers? I know this is a stretch but just putting it out there. I can't afford to pay someone to paint and stuff, so i figured I'd take the time and try and learn. I've read a few books but I know there is no sub. for lessons taught by professionals.

So if you are willing to help, i'd really appreciate it. I'd mostly need help with body panel alignment, and some tips on getting panels straighter. Offer comes with lunch? haha Pizza and some soda?

Thanks,
Dennis.

Vegas69
01-18-2008, 11:51 PM
If I had the knowledge and was close I would show you the ropes. Come on guys if you are out there. These kids are a rare breed now. They all care about ipods and television.
You may want to see if a local body shop will let you intern for a day. Expect **** work and plenty of harrasment.

dstryr
01-19-2008, 07:59 AM
haha well ive been counting on doing the **** work since I started this project. I worked at a motor shop for like 3 weeks during the summer, and the guy walked me through every step there was in building the motor. I did everything myself, but he made sure I didnt make any mistakes. It was a great learning tool and i have a lot more respect for the car now that I've done everything and its taken so long. The problem is the only local shops to me right now are just collision repair shops that dont like messing with old cars.

dstryr
01-20-2008, 06:29 PM
Bump?

mpozzi
01-22-2008, 08:06 PM
Hey Dennis,