PDA

View Full Version : Intro from the UK

bexupnorth
01-17-2008, 05:18 AM
Hi All,

Just wanted to say hello as I'm a newbie on here. I'm based in the North East UK not far from York, if anyone knows the area.

Hope you don't mind, but I'm likely to bring a bit of variety to the forum as both my cars were primarily released for the UK market. They're both Fords (I don't have a Ford bias, just happen to like these two models) a 1959 Mk II Zephyr (was this ever available stateside?) and a 1984 Mk III Capri.

The Zephyr is mid rebuild suffering the ravages of tin worm but will eventually be my dream car. The Capri is my daily driver (and at around 20,000 miles per year it gets used pretty much daily!) and will be used to practice on so that I get the Zephyr just right (hopefully).

Some pictures here: http://community.webshots.com/user/bexupnorth

Thanks for the info on the site, there's not much Pro-touring stuff this side of the water so it's a real inspiration.

Ade.

lvrpool32
01-17-2008, 07:18 AM
Welcome to the madness!!

transplanted scouser myself :cheers:

Twentyover
01-17-2008, 03:50 PM
Cool , compadre.

I have a 76 Mk II and a Scorpio 2.9 12V that's in que- Can't open your pics from work, I'll do it tonight when i get home

gordonquixote
01-17-2008, 03:59 PM
The Zephyr looks like a cross between a 55 Chevy and a Datsun 510! Cool car, I've never seen one before.

70bird
01-17-2008, 04:33 PM
The Zephyr looks like a cross between a 55 Chevy and a Datsun 510! Cool car, I've never seen one before.
Welcome, and what he said!

comp-spec
01-17-2008, 05:08 PM
Welcome, check out this months American Classic magazine in the U.K. It features MY shops 67 Camaro. Classic-American Website (http://www.classic-american.com/)

bexupnorth
01-18-2008, 02:03 AM
Thanks guys, I didn't think the Zeph had ever made it stateside. Pretty sure it was an attempt to build an American style car that would fit on our roads!

CraigMorrison
01-18-2008, 05:35 AM
Hi All,