PDA

View Full Version : How to Make a Website

TheMonkey
01-16-2008, 05:46 PM
if you ever want google to puke information all over you, just type that in.

can anyone break it down for me?

i have no experience, no domain. just want to document my build and share it. i'd like to have my own domain rather than a blog. isn't godaddy for people for me? do they offer hosting/domain/support and page building software for this? are they priced right, or what other route should i consider?

even information from godaddy's site seems to be unclear to what they offer. every site i go to just has 'click here to buy' buttons flashing everywhere.

thx for any help.

Scott.

JMarsa
01-16-2008, 07:53 PM
1. You need a webserver (either yours on someone elses) to dish up your content. If you rent space the sevice is called webhosting.

2. You can register a domain if you want a specific URL or you can use the directory space assigned to you (like www.your-isp.com/scott/
If you register a URL the service is called a registar (like networksolutions ect).

3. You need to present your content in HTML. You can learn it, pay a web designer or use software. IMO learning is easier than using software.

How do you get on the net now? Maybe your ISP offers free webspace, many do, look into it it's usally cheap if you need to pay extra.

Godaddy is a good bang for the buck, shop around.

--JMarsa

YoungGun
01-16-2008, 07:53 PM
I have a small site. Www.college-investor.com

I use www.inmotionhosting.com for hosting and to get my domain name. The cheapest hosting is $7 a month and the domain name is free with hosting. If you go to the site they will tell you if the domain name is available too.

The harder part is the building of the site itself. Do you have dreamweaver? Microsoft FrontPoint? Or any web design software? Some places offer online software but they are baddddd. To build a basic site is pretty simple with good software.