PDA

View Full Version : what's the best style differential?

megaladon6
01-07-2008, 06:11 PM
for primarily street driving what's the best one that will work in a buick 8.5in rear? right now i'm planning on a eaton detroit truetrac.

70bird
01-08-2008, 01:32 PM
What kind of power are you putting to it? Plan on power mods?
Truetraks are great.

megaladon6
01-08-2008, 01:51 PM
i figure my engine puts out a max of 400hp and 450tq.
i'm keeping the 200-r4 but am getting a 2500 stall converter.
the rear suspension will get stronger parts but i'm sticking with the GM designed 4-link. i'm sure that i won't be able to resist doing the occasional burnout on the street, but it's not a drag car(maybe once a year). i have 275/40/18 'vette tires/wheels in back.

70bird
01-08-2008, 05:33 PM
oops :doh:

70bird
01-08-2008, 05:52 PM
I'm no drivetrain expert here by any means, but here's my .02 cents.

Sounds like you are making decent power, and I know Buicks can make some big torque #s down low. If you plan to street drive and occasionaly drag race you shoud be ok with the 8.5 and truetrack, maybe some beefier axles wouldn't be a bad idea. Remember, doing burnouts does not put your axles to the test, but if the car really "hooks up" repeatedly, your gonna' find out where the weak link is pretty quickly.

With that said, get the best and biggest you can afford, keeping in mind future upgrades to power output so you don't end up spending more later. I always try to over-build as far as my wallet will let me.

I ran a stock 8.5 and axles in my Trans-Am for years behind a pretty hot 455, and I drove the wheels off it. Never any rear end problems.
If you are running a full size Buford, (Heavy car) than you might consider stepping up to a 12 bolt or a Ford 9" if you are going to really romp it Mark

megaladon6
01-08-2008, 06:50 PM