PDA

View Full Version : Identity crisis...Camaro/Impala....

skeevay
01-21-2005, 10:14 PM
Hi all, I have been hanging around the forum for a couple of months now and am impressed with the amount of knowledge and quality projects going on here. I am looking forward to learning and sharing. My name is Skip and I am working on a 1965 Impala SS that I acquired when I was 14 (21 years ago already!!). I have done numerous things to it over the years...countless engines, transmissions...etc..you know the story. This time I am going to do a version of the "Pro tour" thing. This is a "more time than money" project (so no laughing! :icon_razz ). I stripped my donor car (96 Camaro SS) and am using everything off it that is feasable (and some parts that are not). So far I have built a custom sub-frame to hold the Camaro K-member and suspension and grafted it to the original frame. I have also fabricated a new firewall and modified the cowl to accept the Camaro air conditioning, booster, steering column, and wiper motor. I also plan on using the LT1 (with yet undecided power adder) and 6 speed trans. Rear suspension is also undecided as of yet....maybe "truck arm"....what do you guys think??

Skip

zbugger
01-21-2005, 10:32 PM
First of all, welcome to the site.

Now, what do we think? Hmmm.... Are you sure you want to ask us this? Well, Skip, since you put it out there, I say three link. You've done quite a bit so far, and it looks rather impressive to me. Very good work so far. Keep us all up to date on your bad ass ride.

Ralph LoGrasso
01-21-2005, 11:33 PM
Welcome to the site, Skip. Nice work on the Impala so far! I agree with Allen on the 3-link for the rear suspension.

derekf
01-22-2005, 07:40 AM
Most impressive, Skip, welcome to the site. You know we're going to ask for lots more pics of the stuff you've already done, right?

MuscleRodz
01-22-2005, 08:36 AM