PDA

View Full Version : Effects of wheel/tire weight

derekf
10-24-2007, 03:55 AM
I am not an engineer. I've never taken any engineering classes, or physics classes, or anything like that -- so if the answer is obvious then please be gentle.

With that said, what real effects do the weight of wheels/tires cause?

Giving it rational thought, one would assume that the added weight would resist any changes in velocity, be it acceleration or braking.

However, when I went to the ultra-heavy 17" Cragar Soft 8s on my El Camino compared to the old stamped steel 15", I felt (seat-of-pants only) a difference - but it wasn't the expected difference: the car felt much faster from a dead stop. The old tires would spin some at launch, the new ones did not. Some of that should probably be blamed on the difference in tires (going from 255/50-15 to 275/35-17) but I didn't buy high-end soft compound tires.

So -- assuming that I'm right, and higher-weight wheels/tires just resist changes in velocity, has anyone used increased wheel weight as a tuning tool? I mean - if you've got issues with wheelspin, would increased wheel weight help dampen it?

How much difference does wheel weight make in the quarter -- if going from 15 to 40 pounds per wheel adds two seconds to ET, then obviously it sucks as a tuning aid? What about on a chassis dyno - do wheel weights make a difference at all (common sense says 'yes', but is sometimes wrong).

If heavier = more resistance to speed changes, once you're at cruising speed, would a heavier wheel increase gas mileage?

parsonsj
10-24-2007, 04:40 AM
Wheels (and brake rotors for that matter) are flywheels. They store energy, and the faster they spin, the more energy they store. Since they don't provide their own, they must take energy from the vehicle itself, taking acceleration energy away from the vehicle.