PDA

View Full Version : Quarter Mile Times?

KrisHorton
08-18-2004, 11:27 AM
Hey everyone,

As I'm finishing the engine setup for our Chevelle project, I'm constantly pondering what kind of times the combo will be able to pull off. Then I think to myself, "Self, do you really even know what you want to run?" Truthfully, I would be happy with a low 12-second car. This is kind of a nice number for a Pro-Touring car, right?

The combo I'm running, which I can't say too much about right now (not just out of secrecy, but partially due to some variables that are still undecided) should be capable of running mid-10's with the right tuning.

I guess the big question is, what should I shoot for? Fast as possible, or toned down and somewhat reasonable? Either way, I want the car to be streetable, but I just don't know which direction to go with it. If I set it up to run 11's or lower, will I be giving up any streetability?

Forgive me if this is a stupid question, but I'm new to the whole going crazy fast concept. :icon996:

Thanks for your input!

Kris

Zefhix
08-18-2004, 12:47 PM
Kris,
If it's a naturally aspirated engine, then the faster you go, the less "streetable" it is. When you have any kind of power adder involved (I don't know/you won't say) it generally allows you to run alot quicker on an otherwise fairly tame motor SB or BB.
Case in point, I have a friend with an 8:1 forged bottom ended BB462 with a very close to stock cam (you can only hear a slight lump when it's cold) running a 177ci roots-style mini blower at 8psi. Now the roots aren't terribly effecient but they do their job and his car is as close to mild as you can get. However, the 3400lb car will easily run low 12s, high 11s.

I've always thought that a car that runs 11.99 AND can do it all with the A/C on without going into o/d is the way to go and that's exactly what I'm shooting for in my 70 Chevelle!

Ralph LoGrasso
08-18-2004, 01:48 PM
Kris,