PDA

View Full Version : G-Bar traction woes..

ITLBTU
10-05-2007, 09:25 AM
I have the G-Bar set-up on my '69 Camaro. I know that many of you are going to laugh, but I have a 5 sp with a 3.08 posi rear. In first gear anything more than half throttle at nearly any speed, it totally lights em up. It looks like the only way to get more anti squat is to raise the upper control arm at the axel, which is welded to the tube. does anyone else have traction problems with the G-Bar? I have a sm 400 pushing maybe 400hp-425hp. It looks like the upper arms actually go up from the rear forward. I have 295-17zr40 tires in the rear.

rob07002
10-07-2007, 07:09 PM
I'm no expert but I seriously doubt 425hp will dead hook on anything but slicks.

40 series rubber has very little sidewall and so no flex, not to mention probably rock hard compound.

Where do you have the shocks set? pinion angle? Tire pressure?

EricButler
10-07-2007, 07:39 PM
Do they make a 295/40 for a 17 inch wheel? I have never seen that before. What brand are they?

Travis B
10-07-2007, 07:48 PM
Rocker hieght? at ride height.....

Project69
10-07-2007, 10:50 PM
Not related but i couldnt hook up eaither in first with my 69' had around 350hp th350 and 3.08 posi also.

Try switching to a softer compound tire, like NT555R, or RA-1

nicks67camaro
10-08-2007, 04:31 AM
Installing one now on a stong small block I'll keep you posted. I am running into issues I am not sure when it will be on the road

ITLBTU
10-08-2007, 09:16 AM
I was wrong on the tire size, it's a Eagle F1 GS-D3 285/40ZR17 . As far as the ride hight goes, I will have to measure it again. I will post a pic of the stance, and get the measurements tonight. As far as the traction issue goes, I'm talking about just hitting the "gas", not dropping the clutch.

Moose
10-08-2007, 09:28 AM