PDA

View Full Version : 4-link questions

badbrad900rr
08-21-2007, 02:26 PM
I am going to 4-link my 69 nova soon and have never done this before. I need to know everything to look for and do. What to measure, how to measere, where to measere, you name it I need to know it. I want to be knowledgable on the build before i start. Or maybe I shouldnt! You all tell me.

silver69camaro
08-22-2007, 05:46 AM
What kind of four link are we talking about?

badbrad900rr
08-23-2007, 08:24 PM
please elaborate. I am new to this. I am asuming a standard parallel 4-link.

Norm Peterson
08-24-2007, 03:39 AM
Let's first establish whether drag racing or cornering is more important here.

Norm

badbrad900rr
08-24-2007, 03:44 AM
Looking good and being low!

Norm Peterson
08-24-2007, 05:07 AM
So we're talking about a proposed modification that's almost entirely for appearance reasons?

silver69camaro
08-24-2007, 05:16 AM
So we're talking about a proposed modification that's almost entirely for appearance reasons?

I'm gonna stay outta this one...

badbrad900rr
08-24-2007, 02:24 PM
yeah, im just not into the look of the leaf spring. The ride should be much improved with a set of coilovers, correct? By the way, what kind of 4-link did you have in mind?

Norm Peterson
08-27-2007, 04:23 AM
Several distinct link arrangements are possible. If you're going to yank out the OE pieces, it's best to choose what you're going to replace them with based on the use the car will see (and a few other criteria like where and how much space is available and whether any floorpan cutting/reworking is acceptable).

Coilovers - or conventional coil springs as found on the A/B/G bodies - are somewhat more ride-friendly in that there isn't any interleaf friction to add NVH. But a good leaf spring doesn't have to ride like a 1955 pickup with extra load capacity.

That last item begs the question of where ride quality falls in the list of priorities vs any of the hardcore performance aspects.

Norm

badbrad900rr