PDA

View Full Version : Roadracing/NHRA roll bar questions

Technophile
12-28-2004, 11:32 AM
I am just getting started on my first pro-touring project and would love some advice on the roll cage. Some of the goals for this car are to at least break in to the high 11's in the 1/4 mile and race in the Grand Sport division in MKM open road races. The car in question is a '71 Cutlass Supreme (A-body) and will probably weigh in around 3400-3600 lbs. I'm really more interested in the road racing than drag but since I'll need the cage for one I figure it's smart to have it legal for both.

1. Will a cage suitable for GS division meet NHRA spec for the 11 sec. bracket? What will it take for the cage to be acceptable for both?

2. Are bolt in door bars acceptable for both? Since the realistic time spent racing will only be 5% of the time spent driving, it would be nice to avoid the contortionist act 95% of the time.

3. Can the bars be mounted to the body, legally? I have in mind to use solid body mounts anyway and am thinking how much easier installation not to mention later modifications would be if the body could still be removed from the frame.

I really appreciate the resource that this site is. If anyone thinks that this post would be better addressed by breaking the questions into individual topic I can do that. Thanks, guys.

Matt@RFR
12-28-2004, 11:38 AM
Get rule books for every sanctioning body you plan to run under! There's a lot more than just cages/bars to consider.

And NO you can't weld a cage to the body. It has to be welded to the frame.

Nine Ball
12-28-2004, 05:21 PM
Just a heads up, but NHRA has lowered their cage requirements for 2005. It used to be mandatory for a 5-point cage at 11.99, but now it is 11.49 before you need one.

Ralph LoGrasso
12-28-2004, 05:25 PM