PDA

View Full Version : A few facts about AC

MonzaRacer
06-02-2007, 08:56 AM
Ok for the record I am a 20 plus year tech and certified AC tech.
Most people just dont understand the basics of the system and how/why it works and what its supposed to do.
The big misunderstanding is that it produces 40 degrees regardless of the out side temps,,,WRONG.
Ok a few basics.AC uses a liquid medium under pressure that boils BELOW the low ambient temps outside.
I dont have the actual spec but R12/R134A boil at like 20 below or so (if I remember my spec correctly) Now just like a rad if you preasurize it the boiling point raises to a point.
Ok so we have something that at 80 degrees is trying to boil away without being under pressure.
Now how it works. the cooling medium is underpressure in the system the suction side of the compressor pulls the refrigerant in and compresses it and inturn the highside goes through a process called surperheat (if you compress anything it gets hot) this is usually a gas holding heat. so it goes to the condenser and gets heat removed (as its hotter that outside ambient temps) and then condenses to a liquid, high pressure fluid that is directed to the control device which is either an orrifice tube(precise metering hole) or an expansion block ,this is basicly a device that controls the flow so as to NOT flood the evaporator.
What you want is the high pressure liquid to spray into the low pressure side of the evaporator.
Now when the refrigerant makes the change from liquid to true gas (not the spray going in) it is abosorbing the heat coming from the air moved across the evap core. This heat saturated gas is then sucked up by the compressor compressed (superheat cycle) then goes to the condenser to start all over again.
Now if you dont have air flow over the condenser or its plugged up in some way your system wont function properly.
so here are some actual readings you can use to assure a system is working properly.