PDA

View Full Version : nuts and bolts

CamaroAJ
12-20-2004, 03:38 PM
just thought i would ask before i wasted the money on something that won't be the best for the project. i want to use all stainless hardware on the camaro the only parts i'm concerned with is the control arm mounting bolts, is stainless stronger than Grade 8? :poke: i'm new to the stainless and grade 5 and 8 stuff, my race bike was all aluminum and ti nuts and bolts. sorry if it seams like a dumb question

CarlC
12-20-2004, 05:46 PM
There's only two companies that I would consider using: ARP and SPS.

Even so, using stainless fasteners in a structural application (A-arms, leaf springs, etc) is a no-no. The better option is to use a quality Grade 8 bolt, not the standard hardware stuff.

Chroming structural fasteners is also a no-no.

I use AN type aircraft airframe bolts from Aircraft Spuce. They are Grade 5, but the grip length can be tailored so that the threads are not in shear. This makes the connection as strong as a G8 bolt but the bolt quality is the best there is.

For a really good lesson on fasteners pick up a copy of Carroll Smith's "Nuts, Bolts, Fasteners, and Plumbing." It has a lot of great fastener and fabrication information.

68LSS1
12-21-2004, 12:39 AM
There's only two companies that I would consider using: ARP and SPS.

Even so, using stainless fasteners in a structural application (A-arms, leaf springs, etc) is a no-no. The better option is to use a quality Grade 8 bolt, not the standard hardware stuff.

Chroming structural fasteners is also a no-no.

I use AN type aircraft airframe bolts from Aircraft Spuce. They are Grade 5, but the grip length can be tailored so that the threads are not in shear. This makes the connection as strong as a G8 bolt but the bolt quality is the best there is.

For a really good lesson on fasteners pick up a copy of Carroll Smith's "Nuts, Bolts, Fasteners, and Plumbing." It has a lot of great fastener and fabrication information.