PDA

View Full Version : Control Arms

Mathius
12-27-2006, 06:10 PM
Can someone give a few pointers on building a set of these: http://www.scandc.com/currectrac.htm

They don't seem to make a set for my '76 Chevy Malibu.

I am a certified welder. I need help with understanding how those are assembled. Particularly the grease ports, and what bushings are used. These are supposed to be superior suspension parts to help with bind in a 4-link situation, so I was hoping to duplicate them for my own purposes.

Mathius

cupcar
12-27-2006, 07:27 PM
Math if you are in a buying mood the upper G bodies work and the lower 96 impala (for the swaybar) work also. mike.

taylorl572
12-27-2006, 08:15 PM
All i have to suggest is to TIG only but beings your certified you probably you already know that

Kenova
12-28-2006, 08:33 AM
Can someone give a few pointers on building a set of these: http://www.scandc.com/currectrac.htm

Mathius
Give Marcus at SC&C a call and tell him what you are working with. I'll bet they already have something that will fit your needs.
Ken

Mathius
12-28-2006, 04:56 PM
Math if you are in a buying mood the upper G bodies work and the lower 96 impala (for the swaybar) work also. mike.

I'll take a look at that. Seems like I could build a set cheaper though if I knew how they worked.

Mathius

Mathius
12-28-2006, 04:59 PM
All i have to suggest is to TIG only but beings your certified you probably you already know that

I don't mean to rant at you, but this is one of my pet peeves as a welder.

There's nothing magical about a TIG welder. It does tend to give you better control, but a good welder should be able to run the same bead with any type of machine.

TIG allows for better control, and it's a lot easier to switch between weld processes (switch tungsten and pick up a different rod, change your weld settings).

Mathius

52deluxe
12-29-2006, 10:27 AM