PDA

View Full Version : Possible TCC issue with 4l60e transmission. Help needed.

AndyB
12-04-2006, 03:06 PM
The transmission in my truck is starting to surge/buck in high gear under a light load. So far I cannot make it happen, but it is starting to occur more and more often. The one constant I found is that it does it most often (but not always) when it is cold or has sat for a few days.

History on the truck, 98 s-10 4.3 I have owned since new. Two years ago at 165k the friction material for second gear let go, so I rebuilt it at that time. I replaced all the seals, bushings, friction materials, torque converter and the entire valve body. The truck now has 210k on it, I stopped using it as my daily driver (75 miles a day) back in June and this problem has started since then.

I have attached some screen shots of data that I captured while the trans was acting up, but I am no mechanic so I知 not sure what the data is telling me.

If anyone has any ideas, please post em up before I start doing the only thing I know to do, and that is to start throwing parts at it!

The captures are about 150 frames long and you can see about 45~50 frames in each one of the pictures. I can move forward or backwards through each capture, so if anyone wants to see another part of the sequence let me know.

Thanks,
Andy

myclone
12-05-2006, 08:23 AM
Im no expert on OBDII stuff but I do mess with transmissions on a regular basis so I'll throw my .02 out there under the assumption that youve checked for the obvious like bad gas, water in the gas, old/stopped up fuel filter, varmits chewing up ign or electrical stuff under the hood, etc (dont laugh at the varmit comment...Ive seen it happen to vehicles that sit for extended periods and Ive pulled my hair out more than once trying to track down the problem only to find a critter had made dinner out of the wiring harness or plug wires).