PDA

View Full Version : BossEFI™ - The World's First Turnkey EFI System???

Garymac69
11-21-2006, 06:33 PM
Have you EFI experts seen this new EFI system that looks like a Holley? I had been wondering when someone would come up with this for musclecars. This might provide most benefits of a complete EFI system and would allow me to keep the complete cowl induction air filter assembly for a stock look. My friend has one of their retro EFI systems on his '55 Buick that works real good.

http://www.retrotekspeed.com/

camcojb
11-21-2006, 07:38 PM
self-tuning systems have come out before. They rarely live up to the hype.

I have no experience with this system, but the tune is the key to any EFI system, and not being able to do the tuning would be a huge negative to me.

Jody

Hammered
11-21-2006, 07:43 PM
You can use a holley flange throttle body to keep a "stock" configuration with cowl induction. That's what I did: http://www.my67.net/john/engine3.htm

After starting from zero with my setup, I don't see the aversion to tuning. It has been pretty simple so far with the wideband 02 sensor. Now that we're into winter, I'm doing a little cold start-up tuning. I have the Accel Gen7 which many say is one of the harder systems to learn.

Garymac69
11-22-2006, 09:56 AM
It seems that you would need to turn the auto-tuning feature off at some point. I've requested more info from the company. Actually, I was really looking forward to the tuning part of the project. (my profession is a Control System Engineer).

Hammered,
Nice job on the cowl induction and EFI setup. I was concerned with the fuel rails clearing the filter base on my SB Chevy, but yours looked like it worked out well. That's the major reason I was interested in this product, plus the reduced wiring and installation requirements. Looks like you made the wiring look pretty nice too.

Gary

BonzoHansen
11-22-2006, 10:30 AM
So is that essentially a TBI setup with no spark control?

BRIAN
11-22-2006, 12:07 PM