PDA

View Full Version : 17X11 TTII's on mini tubbed 67 camaro

67LSRS
10-12-2006, 08:02 PM
Ok, I am trying to measure the rearend for my minitubbed 67. I have 315/35/17's mounted on TTii's which are 17X11 with 7 3/4 BS. The rear is a stock length 68 camaro 12 bolt measuring 59 7/8 axle flange to axle flange. My main question is with the tires in the wheel well's what inner and outer clearance should I have. If I put about 1/2 inch to the inners it gives me about 3/4" at 11 o'clock and 1/2 at about 1 oclock on to the outer lip. Will this be OK? I am using DSE 2" drop springs (not mounted up yet).
If those specs are OK I am coming up with about 59 to 59 1/8 from axle flange to axle flange. with that in mind it seems that if I roll the lips from 10-2 the stock length rear should work, does not seem worth while to cut the rear 5/8". Am I thinking right here or am I overlooking something? I have never done this before so advice is welcome. Wheel choice was just to keep the cost of wheels down cant afford the fancy custom billets and custom offsets.
Thanks in advance.

Links to tire pics
http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2601085080077826120tCvgYu

http://rides.webshots.com/photo/2791160170077826120EyYJtO

MrQuick
10-12-2006, 08:24 PM
So you have 1/2" and 3/4". Is that without spacers and stock axles?
What brakes are you using or plan on using? Don't cut anything till you get a full weight mock up going.

67LSRS
10-12-2006, 08:26 PM
The rear is a stock camaro 12 bolt with strange axles (stock length) no spacers used and the measurement is with just the tires mocked up the rear is not in the vehicle.
And I plan to use the 2000 camaro (LS1) rear disc brakes.

MrQuick
10-12-2006, 08:37 PM
Ok, on the axles if you are going to use LS1 brakes will need to be 1/8" shorter from housing backing plate flange to the disc to axle axle mounting flange. You can get the axles shortened or run a 1/8" spacer at the axle.