PDA

View Full Version : LS1 build up - Advice please!

BuddyP
10-06-2006, 06:50 PM
Ok guys, I'm new at all this in the motor department.... to the point that I dont' even know what to search for in this forum. Anyway, what I do know is that I would like to put a LS1 in my '68 Camaro.

I know I could buy a low mile LS1/T56 for around $4000-$4500 but would also like to do some mods to it. After doing some seaching around I figured I could also just buy a short block (used) and build up from there with parts that I would rather have (cam, heads, intake, TB, MA, harness, etc.). What I don't know is what exactly all the misc parts I will need in the build that I would normally get when buying a comlete motor (pulley's, water pump, power steering pump, fuel rails, fuel injection etc.). I'm wondering if maybe it would be easier to buy one complete and sell what I dont' want?? Or is it still more const effective to start with a used shortblock? What all do I need to look out for or get ahold of if I do a shortblock build? Are these things pretty straight forward to build or is there a lot of little things that one needs to be knowledgable about to do this properly?

If I was to do a shortblock build, what heads, cam, MA, TB, intake combonations should I be looking for? What cam lift/duration is good in these motors yet streetable? Is there combo's that I need to watch out for that won't work and will actually hurt performance or will pretty much any larger MA, TB and intake work with ported/aftermarket heads? What about injectors when flowing more air? Do you, or how do you, have to program the computer to work with more air flow?

I just wanted to start figuring out which direction to go and get a list started with all parts I need to look out for.

Thanks a bunch in advance!
Buddy P

boodlefoof
10-07-2006, 05:41 PM
Can't give you much help, but for some articles about LS1 combos, check out the AFR article archives. Go to Air Flow Research's website and take a look.