PDA

View Full Version : how many here do track days in a classic PT car?

c4racer
09-14-2006, 10:36 PM
I've been doing track days for ~10 years, so I have plenty of seat time. Also did several years of SCCA autox competing for points. All of my experience has been in later model cars:
'89 Camaro, '91 Vette, '98 M3, '04 Z06, '06 Evo

Here is my current dilemna. I picked up a very well prepped '69 Camaro with ~380hp LT1 and Wayne Due suspension and BAER brakes. The car needs a few things to dial it in and it also needs a manual tranny (has 4LE60 - bah). Already has a 4-point roll bar and nice Recaro seats too, along with a nice Momo wheel. I need to drop about $5K into the car to set it up how I'd like it. Once I do that it will be set up nicely for the street and will really be a reasonably capable open track day car. The car is quite nice with a fresh paint job and completely redone body work. Not full show quality, but very nice driver.

My problem is finances - things would be much more comfortable for me and give me more flexibility to finish the '69 properly if I sold my '06 Evo. But the Evo is currently both my main daily driver and my track day car. I don't mind switching off between my SUV and the Camaro for my daily driving and I could always pick up a decent beater commute car if felt the need. But I'm thinking if I sell the Evo I will have to rely on the Camaro as my track car as well.

My main concern is going off roading with it and doing some damage, but I guess that risk is there with the Evo too, but I hate to risk the Camaro somehow. My second concern is reliability - the motor is a lightly modded LT1 with under 15K miles, so no issue there - more worried I will find some other weak link and get stranded at the track. I tend to do ~3-4 track days a year, so not major and doesn't really justify owning a truck to tow to the track although I do have a car trailer.