PDA

View Full Version : Patch panels metal ?

DRJDVM's '69
09-11-2006, 10:38 AM
I'm getting ready to start cutting rust and replacing with patch panels, smoothing the firewall etc as well as box my rear frame before I put the trunk pan in. I need to pick up some steel for the areas where it will have to be fabbed vs. I can buy pre-made panels.

So it looks like most of the sheetmetal is 18-19 ga and the rear frame rails are 16ga.

So I called up the only steel supply place around and asked about prices.... the first question he had was..... what kind of steel ???

So.... would it be best to get hot rolled, cold rolled, galvanized etc etc etc ???

The 4x8' cold rolled 16ga was $53... which is kind of expensive and really more than I need, but they only sell it in big sheets unless they happen to have some remanants.

This is my first attempt at a job like this, so I'm looking for some guidance...

astroracer
09-11-2006, 11:30 AM
Head to a junk yard. Pick up a hood from a truck or anything that is big and flat. 2nd gen Montes and Eldorado's had Huge hoods. If it's got a few dents & dinkles in it the cheaper you should be able to get it...
Mark

Ralph LoGrasso
09-11-2006, 01:05 PM
If you're notching and boxing the rear frame rails, you'll want to use 1/8" steel instead of 16ga. For my rails, I used 1018 cold rolled 1/8 plate.

LSRS7
09-11-2006, 01:49 PM
Try calling D&J Rosa welding their in Manteca, ask for Dave. He sometimes has some scrap pieces.

Jason

parsonsj
09-11-2006, 01:52 PM
notching and boxing the rear frame railsI'd use .188 material for that (3/16), rather than .125.

CR material is easy to machine and fit, and welds very nicely. Its only problem is due to how it is manufactured. Cold rolling induces lots of stress into the steel. Welding can have the effect of releasing those stresses, aka warpage.

The use of a big-ass hood is a great idea. I wish I'd thought of that!

jp

DRJDVM's '69
09-11-2006, 01:56 PM