PDA

View Full Version : TIG Welder for body work?

HotRod68Camaro
06-14-2006, 07:27 AM
I am looking for a new welder. I have been welding with a Mig for +3 years now, everything from sheet metal to some heavy duty steel. I would say that I am quite proficient at it.

I do not know that much about TIG welding though. Can they be used to weld body panels? I just would like to have 1 welder instead of 2. I am guessing the reasons people use the Migs more than the Tigs are they are cheaper, and quicker.

Any input is appreciated.

Thanks

Kyle

Matt@RFR
06-14-2006, 07:44 AM
Do a search and I bet you find your answer.

HotRod68Camaro
06-14-2006, 09:41 AM
I did that, didn't come up with my answer. I am not looking for advice on which welder model etc.

Matt@RFR
06-14-2006, 12:17 PM
I know I've addressed this before, and I don't really have the time to go into it right now. Suffice it to say TIG is a horrible choice for welding big thin panels.

David Pozzi
06-14-2006, 09:17 PM
It would be like welding with an acetylene torch, too much heat on too large an area, panel warping would be a big problem.

HotRod68Camaro
06-15-2006, 05:53 AM
Awesome, thanks for the info guys. Looks like ill be sticking with the MIG for now, since i will be doing more steel welding than other metals.

Thanks

Kyle

Matt - love the sig quote by the way, seen it happen too many times.

BRIAN
06-19-2006, 06:27 AM
Actually gas or oxy welding sheetmetal is the way to go if you plan on working weld or panel. They put in more heat but the weld is softer and workable. A mig welded seam can't be worked or anything like a oxy or even tig weld can

If you plan on doing patch panel work use a mig. If you are going to get into some real metal working high quality stuff use the oxy or tig.