PDA

View Full Version : Re: Alternative affordable fuel option

YenkoYS100
05-20-2006, 12:32 PM
Anyone thought about converting to LPG ? (Propane) I'm giving it some serious thought. I'm really depressed with these gasoline prices. It's all BS. Around me, propane is $1.79-$1.89 gal. I remember racers in the past, using LPG and turbos, as LPG is high octane (= lotsa boost), and has combustion cooling benefits.

I'm really seriously considering this option, especially since I haul LPG for a living. LOL I just can't get all excited about building a 4mpg. 427 BBC, and paying $3+ a gal. to drive it.

Any input is greatly appreciated.

I also need 5 posts before I can post in classifieds.

Looking for clean, minor work needed Original '68 Camaro front fenders/ SS hood, & trunklid with spoiler holes. Also looking for another Rajay 301E flow turbo. Cash, or may have BBC L/78,L/88,L/89,LS-5 parts to deal with.

Thanks, Rick

Kenova
05-20-2006, 05:25 PM
Is E85 available in your area?

https://www.pro-touring.com/forum/showthread.php?t=18384

Ken

neki67
05-21-2006, 01:40 AM
Ak Miller started experimenting with propane as a performance fuel back in the '70s. He set class records at Bonneville. Actually Propane/Turbo engines were banned from several (boat)racingclasses in the seventies!

I myself have a copy of a publication called "propane fuel conversions for automotive engines" by Jay Storer (S-A Design, ISBN 0-931472-12-1) which has an entire section dedicated to turbocharging propanefueled engines.

Google let me to this (forum)link which has a number of good sites listed: http://forums.beyond.ca/showthread/t-460.html

Here in the Netherlands Propane is vastly available and gasoline is twice as expensive here compared to the US, so guess what this BBC is using for fuel . . . .

my72vette454
05-21-2006, 11:30 AM