PDA

View Full Version : Tell me what is wrong with my set up.

LowBuckX
05-15-2006, 10:57 PM
Stock booster and 68 Corvette disc/disc Master cylinder with 1 inch bore.
Front Calipers have 2.8 bore single piston
Rear calipers have 2.38 bore single piston <--- correction 2 13/32 or 2.406

Am I having a fluid Volume issue?

TonyL
05-15-2006, 11:01 PM
what kind of lines do you have?

what are the symptoms, what's it do?

LowBuckX
05-15-2006, 11:15 PM
Lines are as follows
Front 3/16 from Master to a "T" then 3/16 to calipers.
Rear. 1/4 from Master to adjustable prop then to axle then 3/16 out to the calipers

Problem is I have bled over a gallon through the rears and have a soft pedal still. Someone metioned in another post that I may have a volume issue.

TonyL
05-16-2006, 06:46 AM
oh I see. My first thought was, older rubber lines are swelling when the pedal is depressed. I've seen that happen a few times, Switching to braded hoses and hardline help alot. Im no expert on volumes, but im sure someone else may chime in soon.

Hidro
05-16-2006, 07:05 AM
The corvettes used 4 piston calipers in 1968.Using a single piston the volume wont be the same.

-Ed

LowBuckX
05-16-2006, 09:25 AM
The corvettes used 4 piston calipers in 1968.Using a single piston the volume wont be the same.

-Ed
Can you elaborate? Too much .. not enough..

Hidro
05-16-2006, 09:38 AM
4 piston calipers use less volume and less pressure than a single piston caliper. (from wilwood website)

-Ed

LowBuckX
05-16-2006, 11:48 AM
Then what Master should I be running?

LowBuckX
05-16-2006, 04:27 PM
:help:

6'9"Witha69
05-16-2006, 05:21 PM