PDA

View Full Version : Recommendations for welding helmet

DRJDVM's '69
05-14-2006, 10:55 PM
I'm pretty new to welding and so far I've been using a cheap used helmet that I picked up at the local trade school I've been taking lessons at. Basically it does the job, but the shade is a bit dark for my eyesight and the "flip down" control is crap.

The biggest issues I keep having is being able to see where I should be heading with the puddle or having my hand move when I flip the shield down and then my start point is way off the mark. So basically I either start at the wrong point or find myself trailing off line while doing my weld because I cant see the joint very well.

I'm sure some of this is just due to inexperience, but I figured its time to step up and buy an autodarkening helmet.

So I'm not a pro and I dont weld 20 hours a week or anything, so I'm not interested in breaking the bank to buy a top of the line helmet. My budget is roughly $150-175 ( $200 at the most). I also dont really want a big airbrushed mural on the side either.

So any suggestions for my budget and needs ??

astroracer
05-15-2006, 03:50 AM
http://www.mylincolnelectric.com/Catalog/equipmentdatasheet.asp?p=9777
I got the Silver Elite auto-darkening when I got my Tig machine. I like it alot.
I have looked at the Habour Freight helmets but I didn't like the way they fit. I may pick one up though to try it out and to have an extra one on hand...

PT Goat
05-15-2006, 04:54 AM
I'd recommend one of the Miller/Hobart auto-dimming models. Best price I could find was through Amazon.com, but the item actually ships through a company in NJ called J.W. Goodliffe & Son Inc. Total with shipping was about $170. I love it, it has helped my welding immensely.

Matt@RFR
05-15-2006, 07:32 AM