PDA

View Full Version : Tips on using a Plasma cutter

DRJDVM's '69
05-06-2006, 01:15 PM
I'm very new to the welding and plasma cutting world so I'm looking for some tips and suggestions on using these type of tools correctly.

I just got a Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 38 plasma cutter and all I can say is..... me likey very much :) ...... its a wicked tool !!! I cant wipe the grin off my face while I'm cutting through stuff like butter...

Anyway......

My first question...... is there a general guideline on the machine setting for certain thickness cuts etc in order to get the best clean cut ?? Alot of my stuff is going to be sheetmetal (floor pans, patch panels etc etc), so I want to get a good clean cut without blowing it to pieces.

Second question... do you guys use a standoff ??? I want the wand about 1/4 inch off the surface when I'm cutting right ??? I'm just having a hard time keeping a straight line and a separation from the surface..

I'd love to hear any tips you veterans have learned over the years for using this tool the best way...

colt zantop
05-06-2006, 01:42 PM
I can cut a straight line if I have my arm rested on something...thats what I found to be easiest. I hold my wrist with my other hand and run my forearm along something like tubing etc...

tbair
05-06-2006, 05:28 PM
I use a 2x4 as a guide on a flat piece of metal.

ProdigyCustoms
05-06-2006, 06:00 PM
I like to use one of those aluminum yard sticks for a guide. We also do a lot of 1/4" plywood, and masonite for patterns. I hate stand off tips. We always use drag tips. A few years back we took on a big project and bought 3 Thermo Dynamics, Pac 50s and love them. You bought a good one.

DRJDVM's '69
05-06-2006, 06:21 PM
So whats exactly is a drag tip vs the standard tip that come on the gun ??

The standoff looks kind of awkward and I see it getting in the way unless the piece is very flat and you have alot of room around to position the gun.