PDA

View Full Version : looking for some info on the easiest power adder

importkiller69ss
05-01-2006, 05:00 PM
ok i am new to the power adder forum.. i have always wanted either a blower or a twin turbo setup on my motor and just have a few question..i am no where near being albe to afford this but will do it in the future and have a few quistions....
would a mild sbc be able to support either adders?
i would never be able to afford banks kits or any other tt setups but how well can you put together a homemade kit from say a grand national or a cummins....and since neither my father or i have any experience would it be better to jsut get a supercharger kit
all in all once i decide to go either route which is better. i am not looking for tons and tons of power just reliability and fun..so if you would do one on a 19 year old college student budget which one
home made t/t setup
or a blower from procharger vortec paxton
and since i already have a mild and new sbc can it supprt either

shmoov69
05-01-2006, 07:41 PM
Easier? Blower kit.
Cheaper? Junkyard turbo DIY kit
Better? six one way and half a dozen the other!
A JY turbo kit can work quite well if you do a little studying up on it and are not afraid of some fabrication. The blower will look better if you are not a good fabricator also. But, you can have a near stock engine to put a set of turbo's on and keep the tune mild and have a ball.....or two!

importkiller69ss
05-01-2006, 08:30 PM
i am not familiar with the terms DIY or a jy turbo i am a virgin when it comes to this what would be the best donor turbos ....what else is involved......wastegates (where to get them) intercoolers also where to get them....and braket headers carbs....i just have no info....i work in a hot rod shop so fabricating isnt any issue we jsut have never dealt with turbos or blowers

Beeper
05-02-2006, 08:44 AM
JY = Junk Yard
DIY = Do It Yourself

shmoov69
05-02-2006, 07:28 PM
Go to www.toohighpsi.com