PDA

View Full Version : welding problems (lincoln 135 plus)

vince72
04-27-2006, 05:47 PM
i am new to the world of mig welding so be patiant please.
i have been welding with my lincoln sp 135 plus and i have had probs with the wire getting stuck in the gun and running rough when i use .035 flux core wire. today i tried .025 wire and it ran fine does this mean that i not only have to change the tip but also the gun?
i hope that i was specific enough if not please ask:pat:
thanks
vince

Matt@RFR
04-27-2006, 07:30 PM
Do you know what a liner is? Do you know which one is in your gun lead?

Do you know what a drive roll is? Do you change it for the different sized wires?

Do you know how to adjust drive roll tension? How about brake tension?

mikey
04-27-2006, 07:36 PM
It could possibly be that you liner is kinked from being coiled too tightly. Another thing to try first is when you are welding is keep the cable to the gun straight as possible. Higher guage wire doesn't travel around curves well as lighter gauge. A really cheap fix is to replace the contact tip. They can get buggered up easily.

vince72
04-27-2006, 08:04 PM
mikey, i did replace the tip and will concentrate on keeping the gun straight.
matt, i am not for certain but isnt the liner the line the wire runs through. i dont know which is in the gun lead. i asume that the drive roll is the size on the roll dispenser if so i have not changed it. the roll does spin fleelly. i have only had the mig for two weeks so please excure my little to no knowledge, but if you help i will learn
thans
vince

Matt@RFR
04-27-2006, 08:05 PM
I have to disagree, unless those tiny guns that come with the small MIGs are just-that-bad. I've never once had a feed problem that wasn't solved by a new liner, new tip or possibly some adjustment in the drive mechanism or brake.

Matt@RFR
04-27-2006, 08:09 PM
Check your instructions, they should tell you what size liner came in the stock gun.