PDA

View Full Version : DC Control 3018 kit problems

Marty G Cars
04-15-2006, 07:41 PM
Being a novice, I thought that buying the DCC 3018 Mark VIII fan/controller kit for my 68 Camaro would be the simple route to go. Well I have everything installed and the fan works, but it doesn't seem to be pushing anywhere near 4300 cfm and no matter where I turn the variable temperature setting knob, the fan comes on when I turn the ignition key on.

I followed the directions except I could not see why it would matter on the battery positive connection, so I DID connect it to my starter where my battery cable attaches. The yellow ignition wire was connected to a 12V ignition switched source from my AAW harness. The blue AC wire was connected to my AC compressor input wire. The battery negative wire was run to a chassis ground. The probe was placed on the outlet side of the radiator as specified in the instructions. I am running a 180 thermostat.

The problems are -
1) Always on when ignition is on no matter if engine is warmed up or not
2) Doesn't seem to blow 4300 cfm
3) Temp guage reads 180-200, but I haven't even run the motor hard yet (under 4000 rpm) and I think it will run much hotter when the summer heat builds and I start running the AC

I hope this is enough info to enable someone to figure out what is going on.

Thanks!
Marty

baskin
04-16-2006, 07:38 PM
This is a pretty easy one, if you have the yellow ignition wire connected, it's suppose to run at 10% when the ignition is on. The filter needs to be run for a couple of reasons, but one of them is that a run that far to the battery http://www.dccontrol.com/componentsR1.htm http://www.dccontrol.com/faq.htm#batt causes the controller short circuit protection to kick in and limit the controller output. (I'm assuming that the fan speed does increase when the knob is turned ccw)

Marty G Cars
04-17-2006, 03:26 AM