PDA

View Full Version : Need HELP from you welders!!!!

CRCRFT78
04-03-2006, 09:06 PM
I'm interested in buying a MIG/TIG welder. Haven't decided which one just yet. I do have access to a MIG welder so I'm leaning towards the TIG. Problem is, I have no experience welding but plan on taking classes to learn. Need help from you experienced welders on what type of setup would benefit me the most. My plans are to use it for fabrication and automotive purposes. Also some light projects around the house and in the garage. Something portable and not too expensive. Remember I have NO experience welding. Just don't want to break the bank the first time out. Most likely will go with a TIG setup since I have access to a MIG but would like opinions on both. Such as brand (Lincoln/Miller), usage/purpose, benefits/disadvantages of both MIG/TIG, just a general honest opinion. I have "NO" welding experience so I'm pretty much counting on your opinions when it comes time for my purchase decision. Hope that doesn't put alot of pressure on you guys, THANKS.
Joe

68firehawk
04-03-2006, 09:26 PM
Miller, Lincon, Hobart, ect.
The Namebrand welders are all good.
The more you spend the better you get.

If you really want a tig it is best to spend the extra money and upgrade to a water cooled unit. However your looking at spending upwards of $2k. Tig is an artform and not used by many night time hobbiests.

Portible, not too expensive, is a Mig
I would opt for a Mig 220volt unit of some sort. I have a Miller 175 and it will do anything I need it to. Weld's 1/4" steel all day long yet still small enough to weld 18 guage sheetmetal. A good Mig weld can look very simular to a Tig anyway and it's faster.

The bad news is if you want a new unit your still in it for neer $1K or more once you buy the bottle and everything. Then you also want an auto darkening mask so you don't burn your face off tacking things together (bad experince :). And they are another $300.

my two cents anyway
Jake