PDA

View Full Version : rack & pinion options for 69 F body?

steve g
10-11-2004, 09:18 AM
I'm a newbie just getting started with pro-touring. I've got a 69 Firebird convertible that I'm gettting ready to start on. I've seen the Steeroids kit, but are there any other options for a rack & pinion? Will any other late model units work? Budget is a consideration.

derekf
10-11-2004, 10:40 AM
Hi Steve, welcome to the site.

Given that budget is a concern, I can think of many, many places that extra money would be better spent than on a R&P conversion.

Take a look at http://www.chevelles.com/techref/shea_3.html to see a list of power steering boxes, their ratios, effort, and travel - swapping in a better Saginaw box may get you all the improvement you're looking for at a much lower cost.

baz67
10-11-2004, 04:28 PM
Steve, welcome also there is some bumpsteer issues with the steeroids kit. Like dered said a new box with a better ratio with new tie rods, idler arm and pitman arm would be money well spent.
Brian

steve g
10-12-2004, 03:29 PM
Derek,
I currently have the variable ratio power steering 16:1 - 12.4:1 with 2 1/2 turns to lock. Some of the aftermarket ones I've seen advertised as quick ratio are 12.7:1 with 3 1/8 or 2 1/2 turns lock to lock. Forgive my ignorance as a newbie, but how much of an improvement would that be over what I have for $350.

derekf
10-13-2004, 03:47 AM
I'm cheap and I'll be the first to admit it.

I can't see spending 350 for someone's "aftermarket" version of a Saginaw box, when I could spend a fraction of that getting one from a 'yard.

The biggest thing I'd look for was amount of travel - you'd hate to end up with either
a) a huge increase in turning radius (which you'd get if the travel decreased)
or
b) tires rubbing at full lock (if the travel increased)