PDA

View Full Version : Axle Bearing Leak

Clsccmro
03-27-2006, 12:28 PM
Hey guys,

I guess I didn't install my axles correctly in the new 9" I installed in my 69 camaro, because they are both leaking. They are Moser 31 spline axles, and they came with the bearings already pressed on. I thought that I was just supposed to place the bearings into the housing ends without any grease or silicone, but I guess I must be wrong. I tightened the housing end bolts to 60 lbs. each, maybe that's not enough? Please let me know anything you can on the subject, since this was my first rearend install, I'm still an amateur at this. Thanks in advance.

Clsccmro
03-28-2006, 05:53 AM
Anyone?

Josh
03-28-2006, 06:08 AM
If your bearing do not have an O ring around the perimeter of the bearing then use a slight bit of silicone.

Clsccmro
03-28-2006, 07:34 AM
Do you mean, put silicone around where the bearing meets the housing ends?

And any special type of silicone, or it doesn't matter?

Patrick
03-28-2006, 05:22 PM
I believe there should also be an inner seal...located just inside the tube.

jknight16
09-17-2007, 03:12 PM
I'm bringing back this old thread because I'm having the exact same issue with my 9" rear. There was no gasket/o-ring/seal on the axle bearings as i received them and now I have a leak on both axles.

Can anyone add some detail regarding these inner seals that may or may not need to be present? Should I try the silicon/RTV suggestion above? Anyone have better ideas?

Thanks guys!

big gear head
09-17-2007, 06:19 PM