PDA

View Full Version : Welding table

DRJDVM's '69
03-15-2006, 03:07 PM
I'm brand new to welding so as a first real project for my new welder, I was planning on building a welding/cutting table so I had a convienent place to do small welding and cutting jobs .

Currently my only work bench is wood so I really need a good place to be able to set metal down and weld it or cut it. So far, I'm using a makeshift "bench" with some cinder blocks and a small piece of metal. Its definitely not very user friendly.

In one of the welding books I looked at they had plans for a welding/cutting table. The rest of the book was worthless, so I didnt buy it.

What I was hoping for is for some "real world" or "this worked great for me" or "I wish I had built it this way instead" advice....

Nothing fancy, just practical....

DRJDVM's '69
03-15-2006, 03:11 PM
I did find some plans on the Lincoln website, but what I was hoping for is "I'd do it this way instead becasue in my experience this is going to work better that those generic plans"

Matt@RFR
03-15-2006, 03:28 PM
Get the thickest plate you can find/afford for the top. Mine is 1/2" and I hate it, although I'm not a hobbiest either. Make it as heavy as you can and still be able to move it. Mine is just over 1,000lbs. Bolt the top onto whatever stand you build. If it's big enough, you can incorporate removable vice/bench grinder/whatever mounts.

Samckitt
03-15-2006, 07:19 PM
Holly cow that is huge & heavy. I made a small one that I could clamp things to & move it around fairley easy. It is roughly 4' x 2.5' x 1/4" top and stands about 40" tall or so. If you want I could take some dims of it for you.
Scot

Jim Nilsen
03-15-2006, 08:41 PM